Lambs with a Destiny….

This post may not please any of you who are animal rights activists. My apologies to your sweet hearts, if you should choose to read it.

Jimmy and I have been talking about the fate of our eleven lambs. We now have a rough plan for each of them, which is a huge relief to me.

The kids each have chosen their show lambs, pictured here with them…

DSC_0520

 
Bailey took his time and finally chose and named this little ewe Lily. She is the daughter of Lady, who is our youngest mama. Lily is a smart and sassy lamb. I’m sure she will serve us well as a breeding ewe someday. Just look at how she looks at the camera–she’s not your typical lamb!

20131218_161203_resized

Mason and Taj are holding Jayden and Makana, their keepers, who will also be breeding ewes for us in the future. Since this photo was taken, these two ewe lambs have grown into graceful adolescents! They are really fun to watch. So feminine! But they are nearly too big to hold now, with legs twice as long.

The kids each got to choose a market lamb to sell at the Yamhill County Fair Auction as well. Taj and Mason chose the brothers of their ewe lambs. Since Bailey’s girl doesn’t have a brother, he is going to use the older of our other two remaining boys, or maybe our firstborn girl, who is huge. Boys (ram lambs) are chosen for market most of the time, because they are almost always bigger than girls and the price is per pound. They are also less valuable to keep, because you only need one ram per flock, for breeding.

So that accounts for the first six of our lambs. Five to go.

This past weekend, Jimmy decided to allow Madison, our niece, to choose a lamb to work with for the 4-H year, even though Madison won’t be old enough to show one until next year. He warned Madison that her lamb would not become a pet, but she would be able to work with her as if she were going to show her at the fair. Madison didn’t take long to choose her ewe lamb. She chose the smallest–the one that I bottle fed for a few days just after she was born. She is the most tame of our ewe lambs. Madison named her “Bella”.

DSC_0583

 
Bella will likely be sold for meat at the end of the summer, sadly, but my real heartache has been worrying about her brother’s fate. I bottle fed him twice as many days as I did her, and became quite attached in the process. I’ve been careful not to give him a name or to visit the barn too often these days because of him, but he’s so fond of me, when he smells my boots he knows its me and he starts sucking on my pantlegs. He’s a real cuddle bug. I told our 4-H friend about him, and she said that she might be willing to trade us one of her lambs for him so that her granddaughter has a tame lamb to work with as a show lamb. I told her that this would make me so happy. Since Jimmy is going to do the “harvesting” of our lambs on site here at the ranch, it would be hard for me to be around while he was taking the life from my little guy.

IMG_20140122_213939_resized

 
Here I am with brother no-name. God help me if I ever have to feed another boy again! I’ll give him a name as soon as the trade is confirmed as a sure deal, hopefully this weekend.

After trading my little friend, we will still have five lambs left after the fair, including Bella. I imagine that one of the kids may want to trade Madison or keep another of our lambs instead of their own after the fair, if they have a hard time working with their ewe lamb, but they probably will be too attached to let their lambs go.

We are trying to project now when the harvesting will happen so that we can start to reserve lambs for meat for those that might want to reserve them in advance. Jimmy is very experienced at harvesting elk and deer, and he will be glad to be the one to patiently and carefully harvest our own lambs in the most humane and stress-free environment possible, before they ever see the butcher.

We will be charging around five dollars a pound, with the first lamb going to the butcher in April. Do you want to reserve one? Let us know! The butcher we will recommend will likely be in Dayton because of the lower cost offered out here, but if you have one in Portland, you may be able to choose your own butcher and pay their higher price.

Leave a Reply

